The List: Nominees for the Strand Critics Awards and Colin Dexter and Jeffery Deaver receive lifetime Achievement Awards

The List:
Nominees for the Strand Critics Awards…
Colin Dexter and Jeffery Deaver receive lifetime Achievement Awards

The Strand Magazine has announced its nominees for the 2015 Strand Magazine Critics Awards. Recognizing excellence in the field of mystery fiction, the Critics Awards were judged by a select group of book critics and journalists, from news venues such as USA Today, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington PostWall Street Journal and several other daily papers. With the exception of Richard Price all the other nominees for best novel were never nominated for the Strands Critics awards.

nominees for the Strand Critics Awards

Best Novel:

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith (Mulholland Books)

A Banquet of Consequences by Elizabeth George (Viking)

The Lady from Zagreb by Phillip Kerr (Putnam)

Forty Thieves by Thomas Perry (Mysterious Press)

The Whites: A Novel by Richard Price (Henry Holt)

The Cartel by Don Winslow (Knopf)

nominees for critics awards for best first novel

Best First Novel:
The Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango (Atria)

Normal by Graeme Cameron (Mira)

The Marauders: A Novel by Tom Cooper (Crown)

Past Crimes by Glen Erik Hamilton (HarperCollins)

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins (Riverhead)

Disclaimer by Renée Knight (Harper)

Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Jeffery Deaver

Colin Dexter

the list- Strand Magazine awards

Jeffery Deaver and Colin Dexter will be given The Strand’s Lifetime Achievement award for excellence in crime writing. Known for creating the legendary Inspector Morse, Dexter published his first novel The Last Bus to Woodstock in 1975 and penned thirteen more critically acclaimed novel before retiring from writing novels in 1999 with the release of The Remorseful Day.

For almost thirty years, Jeffery Deaver has stood out as one of the innovators of the genre, with the debut of Lincoln Rhyme in The Bone Collector (1997) received widespread popular and critical acclaim, including a big screen adaption of the novel starting Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. “Words can’t describe my honor—and delight—at receiving the lifetime achievement award from The Strand magazine!” said Deaver. “I am truly humbled and overjoyed.”

“It was wonderful to see the critics surprise us with some new nominees this year,” said Andrew F. Gulli, the managing editor of The Strand. “And we were happy that Colin Dexter and Jeffery Deaver have received the recognition they deserve for their superb works.”

The awards will be presented at an invitation-only cocktail party, hosted by The Strand on July 5, 2016.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.